ASUS falsely advertising their OLED monitor ROG Swift PG27AQDM as G-Sync Compatible even though it’s not

I got myself an OLED monitor and ASUS ROG Swift PG27AQDM checked all the tickboxes for me. Until recently I found people mentioning how this monitor is tearing like crazy at lower framerates and that made me curious. I didn’t notice it because I’m currently playing older titles that run at locked 240fps on my RTX 3080. But I decided to inspect things and noticed that ASUS is indeed lying to us and I think it’s really scummy thing to do. Especially since ASUS said “we’re sorry” several times for same things and then fucking does it again. What the hell ASUS?

So, lets begin with evidence…

G-Sync Compatible claim in the main description of the product taken from ASUS webpage…

ASUS_PG27AQDM_GSYNC2

Scrolling further down the product webpage and they brag about G-Sync once again.

ASUS_PG27AQDM_GSYNC

Then there is further description in the detailed tech specs where ASUS claims PG27AQDM has G-Sync Compatible certification.

ASUS_PG27AQDM_Certification

Now to the evidence that shows how ASUS is misrepresenting the product and stating things about it that aren’t true.

NVIDIA_GSYNC_CERTIFIED_LIST

Image taken from NVIDIA webpage with entire list of G-Sync compatible monitors (dated 2024-01-13):

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/products/g-sync-monitors/specs/

Notice how instead of stating which drivers support this monitor, it just says “Future”? Yeah, that’s a thing. I bought the monitor NOW because it claimed it’s G-Sync compatible. Because I hate image tearing and this was like No.1 thing I cared about. ASUS claimed it supported it all. Now NVIDIA itself who certifies monitors lists it as “Unsupported” and with support coming in the “Future”. When that might be, no one knows.

Further, this is what NVIDIA Control Panel running latest NVIDIA drivers version 546.33 states about PG27AQDM monitor on my system…

NVIDIA_CONTROLPANEL_GSYNC

ASUS, care to explain why are you claiming this monitor is G-SYNC Compatible when it CLEARLY isn’t? What the actual fuck? This isn’t a 150€ monitor and even there false claims would be unacceptable, this thing costs over 1000€ here in Europe. And while it’s not the most expensive monitor out there, I think you can understand the outrage when you pay fucking 4 figure price in € and it doesn’t have one of the primary features required for any gaming monitor to be good. And that’s having a fucking functioning Variable Refresh Rate support just like you claim on product description page.

Unfortunate thing is that I’m too small of a fish to make any kind of concern to ASUS with my rant on a small personal blog, but I sure hope someone big like JayzTwoCents, Hardware Unboxed or Linus Tech Tips would pick up on this. Because then, ASUS would quickly become “aware” and “concerned” about the issue and resolve it quickly. Instead, god knows how long we’ll be waiting for the “Future” to come and actually support G-Sync the way they claim it’s suppose to.

 

1 thought on “ASUS falsely advertising their OLED monitor ROG Swift PG27AQDM as G-Sync Compatible even though it’s not

  1. Between Asus killing Ryzen CPUs because they overvolted SOC for memory compatibility and then shoving 400W of power to dead short that created, because that AI power management chip is so much of only marketing gimmick that it can’t prevent even that, despite it being able to, which further damaged CPU and socket. And them having wrongly turned capacitor, turning it into timebomb on some other motherboards… this one is pretty mild. But I yeah, I wouldn’t trust anything they do, considering all the failures Jay already described in his video where he said he will stop using Asus products.

    I guess their “defense” will be that they sent it to nVidia for validation and just didn’t wait and then they might remove claim, if it gets denied. Not sure about all requirements, but I am pretty sure nVidia specifies minimum range it has to work to. Seems like they half assed implementation, might also get fixed with future firmware update and this is another product that went to market without passing QA. Seems common for them. Or maybe nVidia isn’t taking pinky promises, like Sony and Microsoft did when CDPR pinky promised Cyberpunk to be fixed with day one patch… 😀

    Anyway, I do hope buyers make enough of a fuss that it gets amplified by bigger content creators. One case might not change things much, but they can’t ignore it, if other people complain too.

    Like

Leave a comment