Buying LEGO as adult…

20231220_110255

So, I guess buying LEGO as adult looks something like this hehe. It has been like 2 decades since I last bought LEGO for myself (buying it for cousins and nephews doesn’t quite count) and I thought I should treat myself with this one. And I freaking love it. Was expecting the pot part to be simple assembly, but just the pot itself has like 400 pieces and it’s insanely complex. I wonder if someone at LEGO literally has a job of making this stuff up and figuring out how to do it with the blocks they already make…

It actually looks really neat and from a distance, it looks like an actual plant. And I love it how LEGO reuses their existing parts to make up new stuff. Like, for example, the orchid’s breathing tube/roots coming out of the pot are parts used for LEGO dinosaurs. Or the core of the orchid blossom is a tiny pink frog piece. They even mention it in the assembly manual lol. It’s a cute and cheeky touch and I like it.

I’m actually really amazed how a non-tech toy company just endlessly keeps innovating new stuff and attracting new crowds in this age of everything digital. I know they have been making motorized Technics and Mindstorm models for decades now, but just plain LEGO blocks are still their core product.

Anyway, I think I might buy myself Bonsai tree next, should fit nicely on the other end of the desk. I guess next logical after the Bonsai tree would be… Imperial Star Destroyer. Right? 😀

1 thought on “Buying LEGO as adult…

Leave a comment