Samsung, fix broken Magician SSD software SATA detection!

BrokenSamsungMagician.png

I don’t know when it happened, I’ve spotted it few days ago when I made a Windows 10 refresh and had to reinstall software, including Samsung Magician. And spotted this nonsense where it fails to detect SATA interface as well as its mode (AHCI). I have no clue if this affects anything (like RAPID Mode), but it sure is silly. And from the looks of it, it has been around for a while after Googling about it. Apparently since Anniversary update, I just somehow haven’t noticed this.

Seriously Samsung, if it’s really since Anniversary update for Windows 10, that’s several months already. Don’t be lazy and fix this crap!

8 thoughts on “Samsung, fix broken Magician SSD software SATA detection!

    1. You don’t actually need any of that. Smart monitoring is useless with ssds, so is rapid mode (ram caching, really ?).

      As for firmware updates, unless it’s fundamentally broken, you don’t really need to touch that stuff. I mean, we have HDDs for like 50 years now and people lived without any tools just fine

      Like

  1. I got my new computer on Friday, it has Samsung EVO 750 SSD in it and so I installed Magician software. And it works as intended. It detected my AHCI mode and SATA interface correctly. And I updated Windows 10 with latest update found on Windows update before installing it. So dunno why you have issues with it.

    Like

  2. I have the same issue after fresh install of win10pro on brand new 1tb 850 pro and latest firmware 3b6q. Going to reinstall windows right now but this time I will install the Intel SATA AHCI controller driver disk during installation. If this doesn’t fix it then its for sure outdated bios. And I cant install new bios because my ram wont work with new bios. Using Asus rampage V mobo and gskill ripjaws v 2400, this ram is only compatible with bios up to 1801. Will be getting some new ram next week on cyber Monday!

    Like

    1. Reinstalling windows and supplying the sata controller driver did not work. But I did find the problem in Event viewer and here it is:

      The MagicianSataModeReader service failed to start due to the following error:
      Windows cannot verify the digital signature for this file. A recent hardware or software change might have installed a file that is signed incorrectly or damaged, or that might be malicious software from an unknown source.

      Source: Service Control Manager
      Event ID: 7000

      Now what? lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

