The Walking Dead game is fantastic!

I’m talking about The Walking Dead adventure game made by Telltale Games. And yes, I know the game is not new anymore, far from it. But they did release the “400 days” DLC for it which fits between Episode 1 and Episode 2. Anyway, I’ve bought it during Steam Summer Sale 2013 and this has been one of the best gaming experiences in my life. I’ve had few, but this one is indeed something special. I’ve played few adventure games, but most of them were static, so to speak. No matter how many times you play them, they will always be pretty much exactly the same. But with The Walking Dead, I don’t think 2 plays are exactly the same as it’s impossible to remember all the answers and decisions you have to make through the game. And I’m not talking just about tiny things, you can completely change the way how story unrolls itself. And that is imo what makes this game so special. But this isn’t the only thing…

It plays like a movie where you write the storyline…

The gameplay is very fluid and the pressure from the game sometimes gives you very little time to make difficult decisions. But that also helps keep it fluid where you can’t stop and think about something for several minutes. You get that chance sometimes, but it’s very rare. If watching a triple A movie blockbuster is a great experience, this is like 100 folds better. I haven’t watched the TV series with the same title apart from few episodes here and there and I bet they were never as intense, emotional and connected to the viewer like the game. The interactivity of the viewer is what sets games apart from the movies and nothing can ever change that. Plus, it has almost infinite replayability. Granted, you’ll know how the general story goes after finishing it once, but I’m really wondering how things would go, if I’d make different decisions and that’s what it’s drawing me to play it again in a different way…

It’s adventure game, but not like any other…

If you were growing up in the time of old school adventure game classics like Full Throttle or Broken Sword, you know that these games had one annoying thing nearly all of us hated. It was the so-called “pixel hunting”. Finding a tiny object made of few pixels on a screen with no cues on what exactly you need to do. It was very annoying sometimes and it’s one of the main reasons why many players hated the adventure games. But The Walking Dead is different in this regard. Yes, you can disable the display of action points on the screen to make it a bit more difficult, but either way, the game almost never requires player to hunt for those lost pixels. You have to manipulate things, but it’s again just as fluid as the whole gameplay experience. And I really like what they did with it. It gives great immersion, but doesn’t kill the dynamic gameplay. I wish more adventure games were like this… I guess I’ll have to stick with Telltale products then. I did buy their Back to the Future and Wallace and Gromit Grand Adventures, I’m guessing they are similar…

Graphics and sound…

I have a high-end system so and it’s a year later but frankly, the graphics are awesome. Cel-shaded and sometimes very low resolution textures graphics give it a special feeling and it runs so smooth it was a real joy to play. Some might say or complain that graphics could be way better, but I disagree. This game will look just as fantastic even 10 years later, because of what it is. If it was Crysis/Battlefield style graphics oozing insane effects everywhere, most would just get disappointed later. But they won’t with this graphics style because it’s almost timeless, almost like drawings in a comic book. Oh and I almost forgot to talk about display of facial expressions and emotions by the in-game characters. It’s really nice when game engine can display proper emotions on faces of in-game characters. It makes them feel real and believable. And how graphics are connected with sound effects and music, it’s just sublime. I’m a real nutter when it comes to sound and music and they did an excellent job. It really makes the right atmosphere, those emotional moments even more special.

I’m not going to write anything about the story as the player really has to experience it from start to finish without any beforehand info. If you haven’t played it yet, do so. I can assure you that you won’t regret it in any way unless you really don’t like zombies and really cruel and emotional moments, because there are plenty of them in this game. Not sure why I haven’t tried it before, but I’m glad that I did now. Easily one of the best games I’ve ever played in my life and that will stay in my memory forever. Now I just hope they will make more episodes, though I find that a bit unlikely… But I wish it would happen. It’s similar to my experience with System Shock 2. It was so good I just wanted to play it on and on forever. We’ll see… until then, make sure to buy this gem. Yes, buy. Don’t even think of using a pirated copy, because such game really deserves your support! And developers deserve your support, so they will make even more gems like The Walking Dead…

Leave a Reply

