Awful Opera for Android bug…

Noticed it some time ago after i had to reboot my Galaxy S2. After tapping “Opera” icon, it said that app isn’t installed. WTF!? I checked the installed apps and it really wasn’t there. Re-installed and and rebooted again, Opera was gone again. Re-installing it fixes the issue, but the problem is that you will also lose login info with it. History seems to remain, but not saved logins. Which sucks big time and at Opera, no one seems to give a damn about it. Even found a post on their forums and only few replies and no confirmation by devs.

So, if you happen to use Opera Mobile on Android, try not to reboot your phone. Otherwise you’re in for a nasty surprise…

Seriously, what kind of crappy quality control is this? How can anyone release an brand new app (yeah, the very latest Opera version 14) that goes belly up after device reboot!?

8 thoughts on “Awful Opera for Android bug…

  1. I’ve been using Opera Mini on my Android phone for the past six or seven months, rather than Opera Mobile … can’t really say why, I just preferred the look and feel when I tried them both … regardless, I’ve had absolutely no issues using Opera Mini at all … then again, it hasn’t received a major update in quite a while, so I’ll watch for the behaviour you reported when the next update does take place …

    Like

    1. Opera Mini is very limited and i don’t think it’s affected by this problem at all. This new Opera for Android is using new Off-Road mode which is now the same as Turbo mode in Opera Mini (before it was less aggressive). You should try it as it’s really nice. Apart from this idiotic bug…

      Like

  2. OK, I’ll give it a shot, but if I encounter the same bug as you, I will be uninstalling it immediately …

    Like

  3. Tried Opera Classic for a few days… Didn’t experience the same bug you did, but also saw no compelling reason to switch from Opera Mini… So it’s goodbye to Classic for me…

    Like

      1. No, but maybe it’s because I’m just running Android 2.3.6 (rooted) on my phone … relatively few bells and whistles to conflict with all the new feature laden apps that have come out since Android 4.0 and subsequent versions … besides, every time I’ve tried to update my phone to a new OS, it keeps crashing my SD card within a day, and I have to resort to 2.3.6 anyway … sometimes there’s something to be said for simplicity, which is why I’m also sticking with Opera MIni for the time being …

        Like

      2. I got a reply from Opera dev that it’s a Samsung 4.1.2 specific bug and only if you updated Opera from old Presto to new Webkit version…

        Like

Leave a Reply

